What's new

Opinions needed on a Sub and an Amp (1 Viewer)

Fred DeGrandis

Stunt Coordinator
Opinions needed on a Sub and an Amp
I will soon be in the market for a new sub, and maybe, an amp.
I recently upgraded to Paradigm reference, and am looking into getting myself a sub. The salesman told me to give him a call when I am ready to pick up a Reference 15' sub(I think its a servo 15, but please correct me if I am wrong). I have heard tons of stuff about the SVS subs, and was wondering, are they really better then the Paradigm reference sub? If so which SVS model should I look at. I am currently running Studio 80's, a Studio CC, and Studio 20's for the rears. Any help here would be great.
And finally, I am running these speakers on a Marantz SR7000. Do you think a 5 channel amp to add on to this would be a good addition to my setup. If so, please recommend a model to me, because I am new to the amp game. I am a college student so I don't have $5000 to spend on an amp yet, so please be gentle. I am looking for something that will knock my socks off, but not put me in the poor house. I get a pretty good tax refund check, because I pay for my tuition, so around the 1,000 dollar mark give or take works out well. Am I kidding myself that for around 1,000 I can get a bitchin amp? Please be brutally honest.
Thanks for all of your help,
Fred

Martice

Screenwriter
I don't know about SVS because I don't own one. However, I am having a sub custom built to my requirements by a small company over at acoustic-visions.com. The customer service is awesome and I can say that this is the only place that I know that builds the subs the way you want it. Not everyone has the space for a large box or has the taste for a long tube. Fortunately, I was able to find Kyle and his web-site and find the right size cabinet that promises to deliver the sound quality that I expect in my given room size. It's worth a look and a toll free call.
Good Luck.
------------------