What's new

Opinions needed: Decent inexpensive running shoes... (1 Viewer)

Dave Mack

Senior HTF Member
Hey Y'all! I am curious as to which brands are considered good and a good value. There is a sale at a sporting goods store out here with asics, New Balance etc....

I was a personal trainer for years but have been out of the loop with this stuff for awhile...

Thanks! d

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
I don't run any more because years of jogging has trashed my knees. It's really tough on the knees.

But I used to jog a lot..... So I remember stuff.

Different brands of running shoes are designed for different types of feet, across the whole line. Kind of like motorcycle helmets, different brands fit different shaped heads. I have Adidas feet (and a SHOEI head), and Nike shoes are horrible for me. If you have weak arches, the "TORSION" plastic retainer that follows the arch on Adidas shoes is like a Godsend.

The only way to really find out what brand of shoe fits your feet well is to try them. If you have a running specialty shop (not Foot Locker;)) near you, it is usually worth the extra money you may spend and extra time to go there. They usually have really obsessive running experts who can help you decide.

http://www.sierratradingpost.com has really exceptional deals on closeout running shoes (and lots of other stuff as well). Highly recommended.

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member

Agreed 100 percent. I can't ware most shoes as my heels blister so I'm pretty much an Asics and Merrel man given the narrow heels on those brands. It also comes down to how you run...ie if you look under your current shoes where are they worn out? If its inside or outside that'll mean you need extra support in those area's which any competent sales drone can help with if you're at a speciality store. Check and see if there's a Running Room store near by.

Chad Isaacs

Supporting Actor