What's new

Opinions for Shiva DIY sub, PR vs vent (1 Viewer)

Wes Nance

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

I'm new to the forum, and have learned a great deal by reading the posts and searching the archives. I want to build a Shiva sub, enclosure as small as I could get away with, and I need it to do 50% music and 50% home theater. I'm a symphony orchestra musician, so music is classical, with some jazz and pop. Nothing super heavy or techno. We watch a lot of DVD movies, and for now the sub will work with Paradigm Atoms, but this summer I plan to build some of Dennis Murphy's MB1's or Dannie Richie's AV1's.

I was looking at Shiva designs on Adire's website, mostly the 85l ported or 85l with PR15 passive radiator, since the b stocks are on for $50. I'll run the sub with a 250 amp plate from PE, probably.

Any opinions or experience with these designs? Should I just build a sealed box instead?

My room for now (we might be moving this year) is 24x14, with a low 8ft ceiling.

Thanks for the help!

Wes Nance

Rochester, NY

Kyle Richardson

Screenwriter
Wes, the 85 liter design on Adire's site is very good for your purpose. It is very good for music since it is tuned quite low and is nice and tight but also has the extra punch from being a port/PR design.

As far as a PR or port? Both will be very good with this design. PR's kind of have a bad rap for not being as tight but if tuned correctly in the right enclosure it will sound just as good.

Wes Nance

Stunt Coordinator
>As far as a PR or port? Both will be very good with this >design. PR's kind of have a bad rap for not being as tight >but if tuned correctly in the right enclosure it will >sound just as good.

So with these Adire designs and this sub, is there any real reason to spend the extra money on the PR? I notice the enclosure size and response graphs are almost identical between the two 85l designs.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member