What's new

Oooh Boy! Fight club on HBO-HD tonight. (1 Viewer)

CRyan

Screenwriter
Header says it all. Should be interesting to see how it looks and sounds. Can't wait.
Ok....ok... So I am a relative HD newbie. I get excited about these little things.
C. Ryan :)
Project5.jpg

CRyan

Screenwriter
Damn. They opened up the mattes. Suck. Although, not horrible, it did kill the framing in several shots. Anyway, at least I did not get any DD dropouts, although, I did get a few sporadic drops in decibel level. The HD picture was quite good, noticeably better than the DVD.
I did an AB comparison between the two and was able to notice quite a bit more clarity. The colors were rich, but did not seem quite as deep as those with the DVD. Yet, this could simply be due to the more natural appearance of colors in general with the HD transfer. Actually, the more I think about it, that is probably the case. Film grain was less noticeable with the HD transfer. The 5.1 surround was great, better than I expected. The airplane scene erupted with sound, as does the DVD, but may have been missing a few of the intermittent thumps as the camera pans down the fuselage immediately following the crash.
I was hoping that HBO was making the switch to preserving the OAR, but it appears this may not be the case. Oh well. Maybe it is time to fire off another letter thanking them for the lack of dropouts but asking again for OAR. I mean who do they think is watching their HD channel right now? J6P? I don’t think so!
C. Ryan
------------------
Project5.jpg

Michael St. Clair

Senior HTF Member
If all they did was open up mattes then you are lucky. Most super 35 films either have at least some effects shots or microphones/shadows/whatever and HBO will pan-and-scan them, or at least pan-and-scan certain scenes.