What's new

Onkyo vs Marantz (1 Viewer)

Charles Chan

Auditioning
Hi,
I'm a newbie to home theaters. I'm planning on buying a home theater setup for watching movies (40%) and listening to music (60%). Which one do you think is better: Marantz SR4300, Marantz SR5300, Onkyo TX-SR601, Onkyo TX-SR-701.

Also, any suggestions for affordable 5.1 or 6.1 speaker sets?

Thanks for your help! :)

David Preston

Supporting Actor
I don't think there is much difference between the 4300 and 5300. I first bought the 4300 and then decided I wanted more so I went with the 7300. From my experience and from what I have heard the 7300 is a great piece. YOu can get a refurbished one at www.accessories4less.com they have some great prices there. Mine is not a refurb but if I plan to upgrade my next one probably will be. As far as a resonable set of speakers try Link Removed and check out the Micros 5.1 system Brian can make it a 6.1 by adding another MIcro for the rear. I have a set of MIcros as my rears. He has a few different colors you can get them in. I chose black. They are smaller in person that they look on the site. Just my $.02

Pablo Abularach

Supporting Actor
I think for your preference ratio, Marantz will be a better option. I think you should try to see if you can get a SR6300, I have an SR6200 and for me it does a wonderfull job with music as well as for movies.

As far as speakers, there are a lot of affordable brands that you could look for, I have marantz with JBLs and for me its a great setup, try to check JBL Studio or Northbridge series.

David Preston

Supporting Actor
As Pablo said the 6200 is great I haven't heard any thing bad about it just good ones. I would skip the 4300 & 5300 and go with the 6300. I just went with the 7300 cause I got a pretty good deal on it. Let us know what you decide.

MTrotter

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Marc