What's new

Onkyo TX-SR602B 7.1 vs Pioneer 1014 (1 Viewer)

MikeWHA

Grip
Been doing much researching here and believe I have narrowed my near-future system down to two Receiver choices and two speaker lines. Will use mostly for watching tv/dvds.

Either the Onkyo TX-SR602B 7.1, right now $299, or the Pioneer 1014 (upper $300s) to be paired with either of the following:

JBL Northridge (EC-25, E80s, 2 E30s and 2 E20s for the rear centers) $735 delivered from BH
OR
Fluance SX-HTB with additional upgraded AV-SC and SV-6 for rear - $462 delivered
OR
Fluance separates - AV-SC, 2 SV-6, 2 SV-10, 2 AV-BP2 - $617 delivered

Haven't bought a new system in years and plan on this one lasting quite a long time. I am not experienced with setting up a system at all and would like some advice:
1. Is the Pioneer that much better than the Onkyo - remember that I have no idea how to set this thing up. I believe the Pioneer has a function that helps you find perfect location for speakers.
2. Love the JBLs but for the difference between that and the Fluance HTB, I can get a decent sub (Dayton???). Where is my money better spent? Eventually will get a sub anyways when I get my tax return.
Money is not the big issue here, but when the Onkyo and Fluance total under $800 and the Pioneer with JBL total around $1100, that's hard to overlook. Please help -want to do this ASAP.

Jeff Weight

Stunt Coordinator
The Pioneer is the HOT TICKET now. Without a doubt I'd choose it over the Onkyo. Basically the Pioneer is competing with receivers in the $750 to $900 price range. It's built like a tank, and unless you get a dud, should last for many years.

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
The EQ (with MCACC) on the Pioneer is a very worthwhile option.

Oh, and regarding your selection of JBL speakers, most folks recommend the EC-35 center over the EC-25. This might be something worth looking into.

DorianBryant

Screenwriter