Onkyo TX-SR601

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JamesKer, Aug 2, 2003.

1. JamesKer

JamesKer Extra

I am new to the Audiophile world and I have a question. I want to know if the Onkyo TX-SR601 will have enough to satisfy my Paradigm Performance series setup. I have the Phantoms as my mains, the cc270 as my center, and the Atoms as my rear/surround (for now). I am concerned with not being able to provide enough to the speakers, and that scenario will cause damage to my wonderful investment. Any thoughts?

Also anyone out there have any good online spots to buy the 601???

2. hitendra

hitendra Extra

Hi

To check if the 601 will power your speakers, check the following
    1) Speaker impedance (8/6/4 ohms)
    2) Output power at the impedance of your speakers - this should be at least if not more than what your speakers can support.

For example, if your speakers support a power input level of 100 W and have impedance of 8 ohms, then the Onkyo 601 should give at least 100 W at 8 ohms with all channels driven.

The reason this answer is little generic is because you haven't mentioned the model numbers/specs of your speakers.

To buy the 601 - I would suggest you go to a dealer around where you stay and listen to it with your speakers. Most dealers in the US let you try the receiver with your speakers with a return policy.

3. Johan Meyer

Johan Meyer Auditioning

Most floor standing speakers are 150 to 200 watts
    It is too expensive to but a 150/200watt reciever as hitrenda has mentioned Unless you have 1000's of dollares

IMO this reciever rated at 90 watts into 8 ohms will make your speakers sound great!!

Also look at the Marantz SR4300 heard some good reviews!!
    80 wpc but high current!!

4. hitendra

hitendra Extra

Johan
    My response was a little generic one - although most good receivers should provide anything between 80-120 W.