What's new

Onkyo TX-NR801 ? (1 Viewer)

SteveCoug

Agent
Hi,

I'm a new guy here and totally new to Home Theater.

Believe it or not, my current stereo amplifier is a Sansui model that I bought right after I graduated from high school in 1974!

So I figured it's about time to get into the 21st Century. :wink:

I just ordered an InFocus 4805 video projector which will be here in 3 days, thanks to fast service at Crutchfield.

Now I need to get a receiver to set up surround sound and take advantage of all the cool new equipment.

I have read a lot of reviews and I have pretty much settled on the Onkyo TX-NR801. It seems to have everything I could want, and this may not be important to you "kids," but it even has a "phono" input so I can still play my records (they are round black things made out of vinyl).

The only "negative" I can find about the Onkyo TX-NR801 is that it does not automatically upgrade all composite video inputs to component video out (I hope I'm using the correct terminology).

I'm not sure if this is a big deal or not. I plan to have my DVD player in the back of the room near my video projector and connect it to the projector using component video cables. I will run an audio cable from my DVD player to my stereo for the sound. That was cheaper than buying a 25 ft video component cable and seemed to make the most sense. I will primarly be using the video projector to watch movies, but I also plan to run an S-Video cable from my Dish Satelite box to the video projector so that I can occassionally watch sports and other stuff on TV.

With this set up in mind, is the Onkyo TX-NR801 a good choice? Any other recommendations in the $700-800 price range?

Thanks for your help.

SteveCoug

Agent
After further reading, I'm even more confused about the "component video upconversion" ...