What's new

Onkyo TX-NR777 THX-Certified 7.2 Channel Network A/V Receiver (1 Viewer)

PCaban

Auditioning
Real Name
Philip Caban
I'm having trouble with wiring. I've used 2 different types of conventional speaker wire. It's seems not to be working correctly. I've never had an issue running wire before. I wouldn't call myself an expert but I've always had some sort of surround sound.

When I look up what speaker wire to use for this receiver I get what you see in the picture I've attached. I have no experience with those kinds of wires, and don't know where I'd put them on the receiver.

Are those wires that would run from the receiver to each speaker? If so it seems like I would have to spend close to $1000 to wire my speakers.

Does anyone have any suggestions or feedback? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20221003-215314_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20221003-215314_Chrome.jpg
    387.7 KB · Views: 38

Peter Apruzzese

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Peter Apruzzese

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Yeah, you can use any bulk speaker wire, and you can use bare ends, but that's very difficult to connect without shorts when the posts are so close together. So, maybe you can use bare wire on the speakers, but on the receiver you're really best attaching banana plugs. Spades usually won't work since there probably isn't enough room for them.

Personally I like THESE banana plugs, which are available in several variations from a bunch of brands, like THESE.

PCaban

Auditioning
Real Name
Philip Caban
What kind of connectors are on your speakers? The receiver takes banana plugs (and presumably bare wire and spades). Best thing is to buy bulk cable and add your own terminations. In this case, I’d use banana plugs on the receiver end.

Monoprice speaker cable: https://www.monoprice.com/category/cables/audio-cables/speaker-wire

Monoprice banana plugs: https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=9436