What's new

Onkyo TX-DS898 and JVC RX-DP10VBK (1 Viewer)

Dome Vongvises

Senior HTF Member
I'm relatively new to this section of town. Actually, I've already been here, but only once.

Anyways, my dad is being kind enough to buy my brother and I a receiver for our apartment. Just on his own, he's narrowed down the choices to the Onkyo TX-DS898 THX-Certified A/V Receiver and the JVC RX-DP10VBK A/V Receiver. He was basing his choices on the fact that A. It's just for an apartment and B. He realizes that these aren't the best models out there, but they're suitable for folks like my brother and I who don't normally have highly discriminating tastes.

Since I know you folks are pretty knowledgable, is my dad getting the best type of receiver at that price level? Are there better products out there at better prices? I'm reading reviews for it right now, but I don't want my dad to know that I have absolutely know clue what they're talking about. I'm very unfamiliar with even the most basic terminology like rich sound. :b Thanks for your help.

Vishwa Somayaji

Stunt Coordinator
For the price the Onkyo 898 is an excellent receiver. It is 7 channels, supports most of the formats and THX EX certified. JVC has never been known for high quality receivers until the latest versions. We don't read much about JVC receivers around here.

bryan_chow

Agent
I have the Onkyo 898 and it's great. Excellent receiver. Supports all the cool new formats (THX EX, DTS ES, PL II). Match it with some decent speakers (no Bose). I have the M&K 750THX (plus an old pair of JBLs for the rears for 7.1).

Bryan

Bill Will

Screenwriter