What's new

Onkyo SR600 vs Pioneer D811 (1 Viewer)

John_Drake

Grip
Hi Everyone...
I am new to the HT Forum although I have been reading these forums for quite some time now. There seems to be a lot of experienced people here so I need some educate opinions.
I recently purchased a Toshiba 65HDX82 HD-RPTV and now I would like to upgrade my sound system. I want to replace my old Sony (Sava) Pro Logic system but I don't want to spend a lot right now.
I am debating going with either the Onkyo TX-SR600 or the Pioneer VSX-D811S. I am also thinking of using one of these receivers with the Onkyo SKS-HT500 Surround Speakers (8ohm).
The main reasons that I am looking at these particular models is 1) $Price$, 2) Ratings (CNet.com gave them Best Buy rating).
I am pretty much sold on the speaker package after playing with them in the store and because of their price ($269).
My main debate is on the receiver. I have listed the main differences that concern me below.
Here Is My Comparison:
1) Pioneer is $100 less than the Onkyo
2) Pioneer is rated 100Watts per channel/Onkyo is 80Watts
3) Pioneer has 7.1(matrix, I know) Channel inputs/Onkyo does not
4) Pioneer has Frequency Response 5Hz-100kHz/Onkyo is 10Hz-100kHz
5) Onkyo 50MHz Component Video Switching/Pioneer has 28MHz
6) Onkyo can do 8,6,4ohm speakers/Pioneer only 8ohm
7) Onkyo has .08% Total Harmonic Distortion/Pioneer has .2% THD
8) Onkyo has 96 & 192kHZ 24Bit DACs/Pioneer has only 96kHz DACs
9) Onkyo has Crossover Adj.(80,100,120Hz)/Pioneer is (100,150,200Hz)
10) Onkyo has On-Screen Display/Pioneer does not
Other Components I Have:
1) Hughes Platinum DirecTV receiver (not HD) via S-Video/Optical Digital Audio
2) Pioneer DVD Megachanger (F707) via Component Video/Optical Digital Audio
3) Panasonic VCR via composite A/V
4) Sony Playstation via S-Vid and Composite Audio
I am planning to upgrade my DirecTV receiver in the near future, but will probably connect via DVI.