What's new

Onkyo M282 vs M5010 (1 Viewer)

Ben Hendrix

Auditioning
Real Name
ben hendrix
i'm looking to purchase one of these onkyo amplifiers but which is better? i know the 5010 is the newer model but it has less wattage. Is that important? i'm trying to boost my magna planar electro static speakers. Thanks!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
By the way, speaking of which... http://www.ebay.com/itm/HAFLER-XL-600-POWER-AMP-EXCELLENT-CONDITION-/181087896286?pt=Vintage_Electronics_R2&hash=item2a29ae02de

Ben Hendrix

Auditioning
Real Name
ben hendrix
thanks so much for the reply - unfortunately, i'm on a budget and the Hafler amp is above my range currently :/ i wasnt trying to buy it b/c it was new, it just had different features listed and since i'm no expert... i wasnt sure what was going to make a big difference, and what wasnt... anything else someone would suggest to look for in the $200-$350 range?

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
How much power do you need? The reason I mention Hafler(there were more than one...and most below $350) is you can re-sell those for what you paid. Do you have a receiver now with pre-outs? Or...??? Many people find "more power" doesn't solve the underlying issue. I used to run a pair of SMGa from a Denon DRA-335. The 335 is hardly a powerhouse...and played the SMGa plenty loud. Also(they used to mention on the website, maybe they still do???) In their headquarters, they run a pair off a 10w tube amp. 10w tube makes most of the Maggies sing.

Ben Hendrix

Auditioning
Real Name
ben hendrix