Onkyo LS-V950 question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Franklin, Aug 7, 2002.

1. Eric Franklin

Eric Franklin Stunt Coordinator

Hello everyone. I hope I'm posting in the correct place, if not please forgive me.

I am new to home theatre audio and would like purchase a HTiB. A friend recommended the Onkyo LS-V950, but I'd like a few more opinions before I put down 1000 bucks. So, does anyone have any opinions on this system?

2. Adil M

Adil M Supporting Actor

Yes, I set this up 2 days ago. It blows.
    Now let me explain my juvenile comment. The speakers can handle barely any volume at all. It retails for about a grand and has a good receiver and a good subwoofer. However simply raising the volume to above average volume caused the speakers to distort. The Onkyo Lsv925, discontinued predecessor, was superior despite not being progressive. W/i 5 minutes i gave it a thumbs down.

3. Eric Franklin

Thanks for the reply. That's dissapointing to hear. Any suggestions on a good entry-level HTiB? I've heard that the Pioneer HTS-910DV is good, but I've also heard that it is much better at playing DVD's than CD's. My primary use would be DVD's, but it would be nice if I could play music CD's just as well.

4. Michael Malonzo

Michael Malonzo Auditioning

For a thousand dollars you are probably better off getting an inexpensive receiver and a 5.1 speaker package. You could try the Denon 1603 (~$350) and the Energy Take 5.2 with sub (~$650).

If you definitely want a HTIB be sure to check out the Onkyo HT-S650. It can be found at brick and mortar stores like Circuit City and The Wiz for ~$450. I think this system is underpriced and an excellent value.

5. Eric Franklin