What's new

Onkyo LS-V950 question (1 Viewer)

Eric Franklin

Stunt Coordinator
Hello everyone. I hope I'm posting in the correct place, if not please forgive me.

I am new to home theatre audio and would like purchase a HTiB. A friend recommended the Onkyo LS-V950, but I'd like a few more opinions before I put down 1000 bucks. So, does anyone have any opinions on this system?

Adil M

Supporting Actor
Yes, I set this up 2 days ago. It blows.
Now let me explain my juvenile comment. The speakers can handle barely any volume at all. It retails for about a grand and has a good receiver and a good subwoofer. However simply raising the volume to above average volume caused the speakers to distort. The Onkyo Lsv925, discontinued predecessor, was superior despite not being progressive. W/i 5 minutes i gave it a thumbs down.

Eric Franklin

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks for the reply. That's dissapointing to hear. Any suggestions on a good entry-level HTiB? I've heard that the Pioneer HTS-910DV is good, but I've also heard that it is much better at playing DVD's than CD's. My primary use would be DVD's, but it would be nice if I could play music CD's just as well.

Michael Malonzo

Auditioning
For a thousand dollars you are probably better off getting an inexpensive receiver and a 5.1 speaker package. You could try the Denon 1603 (~$350) and the Energy Take 5.2 with sub (~$650).

If you definitely want a HTIB be sure to check out the Onkyo HT-S650. It can be found at brick and mortar stores like Circuit City and The Wiz for ~$450. I think this system is underpriced and an excellent value.

Jeff_Fitz

Stunt Coordinator
In the HTIB arena, you might also want to add the Denon DHT-683XP to your audition list. It should be in stores in September. Check out the specs HERE.
Good luck in your search,
Jeff

Jeff_Fitz

Stunt Coordinator
In the HTIB arena, you might also want to add the Denon DHT-683XP to your audition list. It should be in stores in September. Check out the specs HERE.