What's new

Onkyo AVR606 setting for just music (1 Viewer)

Dplay

Auditioning
Real Name
Douglas Fulton
Hello. New here. I have an Onkyo AVR606 and I have to sets of speakers just to play music on my patio and by the pool area. I just bought some new Bose speakers and they sound "tinny". Not enough base. So I cannot figure out how to adjust sound on this AV receiver. No matter what I do nothing changes. Switching to different listening presets, etc. Maybe I'm not saving the setting correctly, I dont know. But I have a suspicion that the receiver is not putting out full power. It is a 7.1 surround unit but I'm not really using it for that anymore. Can anyone tell if maybe the unit is set to project sound to 7 speakers and not four thus less power. I'm just a novice but have always had a receiver. Again I cannot get any sound profiles to select. Its just too much treble and I know the bose can play some bass. The only other thing is it goes thru a speaker selection box. I don't know if that matters for sound qualtiy. Thanks.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Did you actually buy the Bose speakers used? Bose cubes can't be used without the bass module they come with, which applies massive EQ in an effort to make sound decent, plust they're not capable of anything approaching bass, which is why they have the bass module.

Dplay

Auditioning
Real Name
Douglas Fulton
Did you actually buy the Bose speakers used? Bose cubes can't be used without the bass module they come with, which applies massive EQ in an effort to make sound decent, plust they're not capable of anything approaching bass, which is why they have the bass module.
These are Bose 151E environmental (outdoor) speakers.

xx Brian xx

Second Unit
Real Name
Brian