What's new

Onkyo 595 or Onkyo 696 (1 Viewer)

MickP

Auditioning
Hello. I have finally narrowed my list of possible receivers down to only two - the Onkyo 595 and their 696.
Before I beat myself up any longer trying to make this decision I am wondering if the 595 is even a solid choice for my needs or if I would be better served by something beefier. Yeah, I'm a newbie. :b
Can an Onkyo 595 comfortably drive the following speakers:
Mains - Polk RT1000i floor standers
Center - Polk CS400i
Rears - Polk RT55i bookshelf
Sub - PSW650 or more likely HSU VTF-2
http://www.polkaudio.com/home/
or might I be asking too much of it? I want to be certain before I buy anything. The room is about 20' x 35'.
------------------------------------------------------
More thoughts for those not minding reading long posts - not necessary to my question though and so feel free to ignore:
The extra 2 bills it will cost me to get the 696 allows me more power (100 watts per channel up from 75), preouts, more inputs/outputs, component video switching, a B speaker out so that a pair of speakers in another room can play from another source (no foreseeable use to me though) and even a better remote. Both receivers are 5.1 and so I have pretty much settled on that for the next so many years - I really hope I don't regret it less than three years from now though.
The reason for my not simply chosing the 696 over the 595 is that I have no immediate need for the extra I/Os nor the preouts and maybe not even the extra power. I do like future-ability though and that's where those come in. I am also uncertain if the 595 can comfortably drive all of the speakers I have mentioned and if it can't then I would be SOL as it doesn't have preouts to connect an external amp to. So this decision might mean my wasting $400 on a receiver which doesn't do what I need from it (the 595) and therefore having to buy another receiver soon afterwards.