One of my fans is not showing in Intel Active Monitor!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett DiMichele, Apr 30, 2002.

  1. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I am running Intel's D845BG MotherBoard which has

    Intels SMBus and Intel developed a very nice monitoring

    application called Intel Active Monitor. It tells you all

    of your Processor Core Voltages, PSU Voltages, System Zone

    and CPU Core temps and supports up to 2 fans (the board only

    supports RPM readings on 2 of the 3 pin connections).

    I have swapped fans around a hundred times before, when I

    installed my new CoolerMaster Fujiyama Heat Pipe HSF it had

    a 2500 RPM silent fan and it ran alot cooler than my old

    HSF but I still wanted more. So I took the 6000 RPM 46 CFM

    fan off my old HSF and bolted it onto the new HSF.

    When I plugged it in I also did some other tinkering. I removed

    my GeForce 3 Ti200 Card and my Wilamette's heat sink. I tore

    the HSF off the GeForce and cleaned the core and HSF and

    applied Arctic Silver II and did the same with the Wilamette

    Heat Sink and reinstalled everything.

    When I booted the system back up I got an error on Active

    Monitor that said one of my fans had reached 0 RPM yet all

    of my fans were (are) working. I read through the Intel documentation

    and it says that occasionaly when you change fans you may

    have to reinstall Active Monitor. So I did that assuming it

    would remedy the problem.

    No such luck. I have only one fan showing in Active Monitor

    now. I did remove the 3 pin connector from the fan so that

    I could get expandable nylon and heat shrink onto the wires

    but I made damn sure that I have the wires proper orientation

    noted.

    I also made certain that the connectors were installed back

    into the clip right side up and that they would make contact

    with the pins on the mobo.

    Still no luck. I guess my best bet is to plug another fan

    into that port and move the CPU fan to the other port and

    see what happens.
     
  2. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope that you just didn't reinstall it, because you MUST uninstall it first, or it won't work.

    Glenn
     
  3. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glenn,
    Do I look that dumb? [​IMG] Of course I uninstalled it first! [​IMG]
     
  4. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but even the best of geniuses can be absent-minded at times. Can you switch the fan plugs and/or try another socket, just to see if it will come up?

    Glenn
     
  5. Drew Wimmer

    Drew Wimmer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    high-draw fans + mobo fan header == bad

    you may have fried the fan header that's registering 0 rpm, in the future consider using a 3-pin to 4-pin adapter and connecting the fan directly to one of the power leads from your PSU, i think the molex connectors are rated at 6 amps so there's zero chance that you're going to kill 'em
     
  6. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drew,

    Nope the Fan Header would not have been fried from the fan.

    It is well within the Fan Headers half an Amp (.50) max amprege

    draw limit.

    Plus this is the fan that was running on that headder from

    day one. I am going to switch fans around and see what happens.
     

Share This Page