On my pre/pro, use same settings for dts as dd after cal with avia?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Todd smith, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. Todd smith

    Todd smith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read that some people just use the same trim settings for dts as DD after calibration with Avia considering Avia does not have a seperate dts calibration section. This sounds good on my system, just louder so I have to turn down the volume. Are these DD settings correct for dts? Dts just is louder at these settings, but it still sounds balanced. Is it correct to use the same DD calibration settings for dts?
     
  2. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMO no, as DTS has subwoofer and rears bumped up by +3dB. So for my own system- I set the DTS modes (independent of DD) with -3dB for both sub & rears. It sounds alot better that way.
     
  3. Lewis Besze

    Lewis Besze Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 1999
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes Avia is perfect to do the calibration with.The level difference between them sometimes you observ[overall not just the sub and surr.]is due to the fact that Dolby uses something called "Dialog noralization" or "dialnorm",it is part of Dolby Digital's encode/decode, and can't be turned off by the decoding[your receiver] end.You can do a search here[archives] or go to Dolby's site for more info.
     
  4. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    theoretically, yes
     
  5. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,904
    Likes Received:
    10
    FWIW, you could follow the advice of some of the pros (Roger Dressler of Dolby, and John Kotches of WSR) and just use the test tones in the pre/pro. I typically do not run seperate settings for DTS, and have not really noticed any issues. If the sub and rears are hot +3db, I am not complaining[​IMG]

    Failing that, if your pre/pro has any sort of presets (my NAD 762 has 5) you could buy Digital Video Essentials, which has seperate DTS and DD tones, and set up a preset for each.

    Side note: DVE is known to have a LFE test tone that is about 10dB too hot (at least with DD), so you would want to tweak the sub using other means. If you search on that subject, there is a pretty long thread on the subject.

    BGL
     

Share This Page