Older receiver, subwoofer out?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by BlakeH, Jan 23, 2002.

  1. BlakeH

    BlakeH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an older receiver, it's a Yamaha. I also have a powered subwoofer. It does not have the subwoofer out, but I'm wondering if it might have been labeled something else on older receivers that would still give it's powered ability?
     
  2. BlakeH

    BlakeH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ugh, forgot to mention that it does support Dolby ProLogic. However, it does NOT support DD, or DTS.
     
  3. BlakeH

    BlakeH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please help.
     
  4. Nathan Hamstra

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only reason current receivers have subwoofer outputs is that the dolby 5.1 has a channel for the subwoofer. Pro Logic has no subwoofer channel, and unless Yamaha added some proprietary decoding, you are (semi) out of luck. It looks like you have to go line or speaker level inputs.
     
  5. Greg_W

    Greg_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My older sony receiver has a mono out that I use to hook up my subwoofer. If yours doesn't, using left and right preouts and running your other speakers small could be used. If you don't have preouts, use the speaker level inputs on your sub.

    Note: using the speaker level connection does not make the sub passive, and draw power from the reciever. The conection is high impedence, and will not affect your receiver.
     

Share This Page