Old Tv Only Bringing In Cannels 2 - 13

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Jarett, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. Jarett

    Jarett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey all,
    I have a fairly old emerson 13" tv that i hooked cable up to. The problem is it only gives me channels 2 - 13 when i should be getting 2 - 24. It has a chanel switch thingy on the back fro 3 and 4 but it doesnt do anything....i have no remote for it....anyone know what the problem is? Thanks

    Jay
     
  2. Drue Elrick

    Drue Elrick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some old TVs only had tuners that worked up to channel 13. And I mean OLD. Either way, I'd suggest using a VCR to tune and change channels. Repairing will likely cost more than the cost for a new one.
     
  3. Brian Gi

    Brian Gi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 1993 hitachi 13" that only tuned 2-13 until I got a remote that had the menu function, I switched it from "Air" to "Cable" and it works fine. It's now in the smoking lounge. (Garage)
     
  4. Jarett

    Jarett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey,
    it actually has like up to channell 100 but past 13 they are all fuzzy...i'll try a vcr

    thanks
     
  5. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A non-cable-ready TV will only get channels 2-13 off of a cable with no cable box and then only if those channels are analog and not scrambled.

    Channels 14 and up for cable are on different frequency bands than channels 14-60 over the air. A few might come in as different channel numbers (if analog and not scrambled) if you connect the cable to the UHF jack rather than the VHF jack behind the TV. You will need a 75 ohm (jack) to 300 ohm (pigtails) transformer if the TV has screw terminals instead of jacks for the antenna connections.

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     

Share This Page