Old SCSI scanner with new computer. How to get it setup?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by NickSo, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Hi, i have a Hewlett Packard Scanjet5P i got awhile ago that uses a SCSI connection.
    Well, the SCSI card it came with was an ISA card, but my new computer doesnt have any ISA slots.
    Do these older scanners work with WinXP?
    Can i just buy a SCSI card with a plug on the slot-plate? Or is my ISA SCSI card proprietary from HP?
    Would something like this work? http://www.compgeeks.com/details.asp?invtid=DC-305E-B
    Thanks
     
  2. Steve_Ch

    Steve_Ch Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should, by definition, SCSI devices work with any SCSI standard compliance controller, and for $6.95, don't think you can go wrong.
     
  3. Brian E

    Brian E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The card you reference has a 50 pin connector on the back. Is that what your scanner has? I know older HP SCSI stuff, like the II series, used a 25 pin connection.
     
  4. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Well the scsi cable that comes wth the scanner has 2 rows of 25 pins, so i guess its a 50-pin SCSI device
     
  5. Brian E

    Brian E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should work then AFAIK.
     

Share This Page