"Old" Monster cables

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by NileDB, May 26, 2004.

1. NileDB

NileDB Extra

Jan 7, 2004
    I own 2, 25-30 ft. old monster speaker cables with the red and black banana pins already on them. They're a giant gauge in clear coating. I don't see any discolorations anywhere. My questions:
    Do they ever "wear out"?
    These runs are way too long. Can I simply cut them down and put new pins/spades on? I'm not experienced with a soldering iron, so are any replacement connectors "screw on" and are they worth a ****?
  2. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor

Jun 29, 2001
    No, they don't wear out and even if it happened that you saw some green discoloration through the insulation it doesn't matter.
    Indeed you can cut them down and terminate them how you like. Keep the pins or use whatever combination of bananas or spades you like. Both are available in crimpable or even compression style. You can always mosey on over to the Shack and see what's over there or you can head on over to www.partsexpress.com where you can just type in 'spades' in the search box and see a smattering of offerings. Like anything else, when ordering online, you might find s/h charges to be disproportionate with what you're buying so if you go that route, think about what else you're likely to need in the near future.
  3. Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne Cinematographer

Nov 1, 1998
    I would say use the cables as-is and just coil up the excess behind your receiver. 20 to 30 feet is not enough to degrade audio, given you say the copper inside the cables is nice an thick. Who knows, some day you may need 25 - 30 foot cables.

The only exception would be if the old connections were not soldered on in which case there is a chance the joints have become oxidized and your remaking the joints would improve things.

Video hints:
  4. brucek

brucek Second Unit

Dec 29, 1998
    Really? If I had a choice I would cut my speaker cables to length.