Old Guy Need Help...Cue Cat with USB

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert George, Sep 8, 2001.

  1. Robert George

    Robert George Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    71
    The Cue Cat scanner I have uses a PS/2 plug. Cue Cat is also supposed to work with a keyboard using the "Y" cable atached to the 'Cat. I am switching all my peripherals to USB. Can I still use the Cue Cat? If so, what should my configuration be?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard Radio Shack has a USB version now. You may have to pay for it though, but I think its cheap.
    You can probably still use it in the PS2 port even if you have a USB keyboard. Unfortunately I'm not aware of a way to convert this to USB.
     
  3. Rik P

    Rik P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Robert George

    Robert George Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    71
    Thanks, guys. I'll make a run to the Rat Shak today.
     
  5. Brandon S

    Brandon S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well first ill say that yes it still works with a usb keyboard as long as you have a ps2 keyboard still plugged in. Whats your point to go all usb though? Your keyboard will see no benefits between the two. The irq used for ht ekeyboard cannot be reclaimed. Are you doing it just becuase the marketing has convinced you that usb is somehow better than ps2? You mouse on the other hand will see improvements. Less cpu use when using high poll rates. The ps2 port is limited to 200hz when usualy the default is 50-60. With an 800dpi or higher mouse usb is the only way to go.
     
  6. Brandon S

    Brandon S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yeah i forgot to mention. Unless your bios has a "usb legacy mode" your keyboard will not function until your os is completly loaded. You wont be able to press any keys, including entering setup or pressing f8 for the boot menu (windows).
     

Share This Page