Old amp as receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Benihana, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do send an old amp a signal from the LFE input? I have an extra amp that doesn't have preamp inputs, and i'm wondering how i can get it to receiver a signal, Thanks.
     
  2. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just use a device input like the CD player and set it to bypass mode if it has one.
     
  3. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have used just regular line level inputs on old Recievers for this, it works well.

    I mean what sort of inputs does the amp have???
     
  4. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry, its a receiver, not an amp. I just want to send it a signal from a another receivers LFE input to power my bass shakers. Thanks.
     
  5. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Send it into any line input, it will be a tad hot, but I have done it.

    If the reciever has power amp in's, obviously you would want to use those.
     

Share This Page