What's new

OK, so the caveman returns, or how to buy mp3 player for daughter (1 Viewer)

Kevin G.

Second Unit
So, I am delving into mp3 territory, for my daughter's birthday. I have had limited experience, and am still not quite sure of all the different forms, or how they relate to players.
Let me preface by saying I have Itunes on my computer, from when Pepsi was giving away free songs, and I love the setup, and capabilities of the program.
I see some of the companies have banded together to achieve a standard in the industry, with the "plays for sure" stamp. But can I download Itunes for pretty much any MP3 palyer, or will an Ipod only play these files. All the ones I've been looking at play mp3 and WMA, but what's really the difference?
I'm not sure I want to spend the hundreds of dollars that IPOD wants for the latest and greatest... So I may go off-brand.

Thanks again in advance everyone...

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
what kind of player do you want? a small compact one that holds about 500 songs, or a jukebox style player (still small) that holds more? every player plays mp3, so dont worry about that. not every player will play wma.

the ipods are popular for a reason, they are great players wit excellent build quality. but they arent the only game in town. iriver makes a lot of great players too. i have an ipod 4th gen 20 GB and an ipod shuffle. the shuffle is the size of a small pack of gum, holds about 250 songs, and has no screen. the 20 GB normal ipod holds about 5,000 songs.

i've never used itunes to download songs, but i THINK you can only play songs from itunes on an ipod. but you can play mp3s from any other source (your own CDs, etc). if you tell us what your budget is and what kind of player you have in mind, we can help narrow down your options.

CJ

Kevin G.

Second Unit
I guess I'm looking for best bang for my buck... She will not need 5000 songs, but at the same time I don't want to go small for a 512 either.