Ok need some help: Cue Cat

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Matthew Cook, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a modified cue cat for dvd profiler. It has the ps/2 connector I want to use this on my laptop so I used my ps/2 to usb connector the cat glows red but wont scan please help
     
  2. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Ya might wanna post this in the "Computer" forum section.
     
  3. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    shoot I thought that was the forum that I did post it in hey mods could ya move it for me thanks
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to load software that responds to the que cat. Do a google search.
     
  5. Thomas J. Coyle III

    Thomas J. Coyle III Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 1999
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob McElfresh,

    I will have to disagree with you on this one Bob. I bought a USB version of the Cue Cat from eBay and use it on my HTPC with DVD Profiler. The unit works fine with Win XP Pro and DVD Profiler with no additional software. The System list shows it as an input device.

    Matthew Cook,

    Check your System list and make sure that the Cue Cat is showing up as an input device. Also, it might help to be running at least Windows XP. If you are running less than Windows XP, such as Win 98 SE2, then Bob might be right that you do need to add additional software to get the Cue Cat to work.
    Regards,
    TCIII
     
  6. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    it isnt showing up as and input device how do I fix this problem
     
  7. Thomas J. Coyle III

    Thomas J. Coyle III Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 1999
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Matthew Cook,

    What version of Windows are you running?
    Regards,
    TCIII
     
  8. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    2000
     
  9. greg jones

    greg jones Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's what I would do. First, if you haven't already, go get Catnip and install it. Then follow the setup directions inside this thread. Make sure to read the part posted by "Miss Movie Diva", as it explains how to set up Catnip for DVDP.

    Hope that helps you out.
     
  10. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done that I just think that you can hook the cue cat the way I did. I have a ps/2 cue cat that I bought a ps/2 to usb adapter and have it in the usb port. I dont have a ps/2 port on this laptop.
     
  11. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know if this helps, but:

    CueCat Drivers for Win 2000 / XP

    Apparently these drivers are designed to "filter out the unwanted code and encription from a standard unmodified Cuecat."
     
  12. Matthew Cook

    Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    it has been modified
     

Share This Page