What's new

OK maybe here goes--diy screen! (1 Viewer)

chris rick

Second Unit
I currently have a 77 inch screen for my panny ptl200u projector, and I want to possibly go bigger. I am looking at something like 96-100 inches since I'll be sitting with my eyes about 140-145 inches away. What is the cheapest way to do something like this with GOOD results??? I currently have a plain jane model b dalite screen, and I was wondering what a good DIY alternative might be. Would just my walls be feasible--I've looked at the image projected on the wall and it's not terrible since the walls are a beige color. I visit AVS forums once in a while but a lot of that stuff seems too complicated for a novice like me to build. I hear a lot about blackout material...what about making an entire screen out of that? I am a newbie when it comes to building a screen like this, please understand. That plus honestly I'm not TOO handy at all--but could get the help of many who are if need be. Thanks for any and all help.

Paul His

Agent
I posted this on another forum just a few days ago:

For a test screen try this formula:

1 sheet mdf cut at the box store to 84.75" wide, height will be 49" - these dimensions will give a 16:9 ratio screen 94" diag after a 1.5" border is applied.
1 quart white paint (I used Behr ultra pure white - flat) with a single drop 1/48oz of black dye.
1 pint flat black paint.

Paint board white - use a foam roller to get a smooth finish (I used a 3" wide one)- put 1.5" black border around, hang on wall.

I hung the "screen" with a cleat. Take the leftover mdf from the sheet, and cut two strips 6 to 8" wide (exact width not important) and 49" long, with a 45degree bevel along one 49" edge for each piece.