OK, help me decide: Pioneer VSXD811S - Kenwood VR6060 - Yamaha HTR5560

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jared Boehm, Aug 15, 2002.

1. Jared Boehm

Jared Boehm Auditioning

I'm able to aquire the Pioneer VSXD811S, Kenwood VR6060 and Yamaha HTR5560 all for about the same price... a little under $300... I'd like to hear which people would go with and why, keeping in mind that I'm upgrading from an ancient Sherwood Pro Logic receiver. I'll be mostly watching movies and want to be able to expand in the future.
    I'm also on the lookout for the Onkyo TXSR600, but don't know of anyone that can get an employee discount on Onkyo so as of right now it's out of my price range. Should I save up antother paycheck and go with the Onkyo? Or is the extra money better spent elsewhere?
    Thanks guys. I also accept any other suggestions, but please make them constructive and understand that I'm a full time college student only working a few hours a week - $300 is a lot. [​IMG]

2. MikeRP

MikeRP Supporting Actor

I'd save another paycheck up. The Onkyo I understand is good. I have the 595 and it is very good. It's brand new -I bought it on close out for $300.

I was so impressed with the improvement in sound that I have become a nut case reading all this internet information.

I had a Kenwood 100 watt prologic receiver. It sucked bad.
    Don't know about the new ones. Maybe someone else knows about the Pioneer and Yamaha. I wouldn't buy them unless they have a high current receiver.

I have this brand new 595 sitting here. I'm taking it back to BOSE this week cause I convinced myself I need 7.1 and purchased an HK520. If you want a great receiver for 300 - I'll ship it to you - probably be about $330.

Mike

3. Chris Brown

Chris Brown Stunt Coordinator

-
    I have the Pioneer VSX-D811S and it is great. Able to power my giant old JBL's and doesn't choke on the bass.