Ok guys, T1 or DSL?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Frederick, Aug 30, 2002.

  1. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hate my cable company. They won't be offering cable modem service in my apartment complex for, well, they don't know! They have to "rewire" my building. And get this: our management company has a contract with these monkeys! I can't get any other cable service in my building! And to top it all off, their cable sux! I'm two inches from putting up an antenna, I swear ...

    But that's not the subject of this topic. My building manager knows our pain, and is looking at a company to set up a T1 line for our complex. They're thinking it'll cost us between $23 and $29 a month for the service. The survey that they sent out says that speeds will be 300-400k, and will cost only a little more than we're paying for our dial-up, which is about $23. I talked to SBC Ameritech, and they said it'll be a couple of months before we can get their DSL service, and Earthlink isn't sure when they'll have it in our area.

    So what do you guys think? ANYTHING'S better than the 43k I'm getting currently. Should I go with the T1 or should I wait for DSL to become available?


    Freddy C.
     
  2. GordonL

    GordonL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2000
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have the option to discontinue service without any penalties, go with whatever you can get first. FWIW, I have Earthlink and I get 1.2mb down/320k up. I've been with them over a year now and have had reasonably good service.
     
  3. Brian Kleinke

    Brian Kleinke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 1999
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    T1's are a lot more expensive then DSL, but come with certain laws regarding uptime. I suppose one thing to consider is you will have to share the T1 with everyone else whereas a DSL line is yours. At that price I'd go for the T1 provided you get decent speed. DSL will likely cost you twice that.

    Brian
     
  4. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as they throttle the T1 so that everyone gets a fair share of the bandwidth that would be a good way to go. Although id still rather have my 1.7 down 320k up anytime. [​IMG]
     
  5. John Stone

    John Stone Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Must be multiple T1s. The data rate of a dedicated T1 is approx. 192.5 KB, or 1.5 mbps. If they are "bonding" the individual T1s to form a single circuit (as opposed to load balancing across them), they'd better have some way to restrict bandwidth usage on a per-user basis or speed and latency will suck. Even with load-balancing they should have some way to throttle. How many people live in your complex? If they only install two T1s and you have any more than a handful of people using the service at the same time, you'll get nowhere near 300-400 KB.
     
  6. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a tough one. I know the pain of waiting for DSL.
    If you get a T1 for the complex, you're still going to run into the problem of your next-door neighbor sharing your bandwidth. His multi-gig porn downloads will impact on your bandwidth. [​IMG]
    However, I have found through experience and stories of others that RARELY do DSL/phone companies stick with their timetable. They say a few months. For all you know, they had a meeting this morning and just pushed those "couple of months" to one year.
    I would recommend that you go ahead with the complex-wide T1. Considering that you're facing dial-up, even a 300K T1 is better than the status quo. If worse comes to worst and the connection is not what you would like, you can switch over to your own personal DSL connection when that option comes available.
     
  7. Tom Meyer

    Tom Meyer Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Frederick, I'm in Chicago (Wicker Park) and use Speakeasy and have had ZERO problems w/ my 1.5/128k ADSL line since I installed it 6 months ago. Check them out. I'd be wary of your apt manager saying he's going to get a T1 as there are a lot more centralized administrative things that need to be done w/ it and I'd be surprised if he knows what he's getting into.
     
  8. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, go to www.dslreports.com and see what's there. More often than not, they can tell you about what is and is not available. Just because SBC and EarthStink can't service you does not mean that other DSL providers and ISPs can't either.
     
  9. Michael*K

    Michael*K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does your apartment manager want to tie you down with some agreement, like committing to a year's service in advance? Generally DSL companies and cable offer 30 or 90 day trials.
     
  10. Travis Olson

    Travis Olson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Travis Olson
    Is wireless available in your area? I just got it after years of dial-up. The speed I get ,according to DSL Reports, is 700 Down/650 Up. I couldn't be happier. It does require a receiver on your roof though so it might be a problem.
     
  11. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The building I live in has 14 floors, 5 apartments per floor. 2 two bedrooms, 1 studio, and 2 one bedrooms. And there are 6 buildings. They'd have to wire all of the buildings. And the only thing we've gotten so far is a survey asking if we'd be interested. I talked to one of the office people, and they said that they're hoping to get everything nailed down by October. That will be in line with what Ameritech/SBC said they'd have DSL in our area. We were going with SBC because we figured anyone else we go through would have to go through them anyway. I'll look into the info you guys gave me. Thanx!


    Freddy C.
     
  12. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing to keep in mind is that the T-1 will take approx 60-90 days to implement from the telephone company in your area. Dont think that it is as simple as turning it on since it will need to be engineered from the local POP, new equipment installed onsite, and then the hardware will need to be configured. I would suggest going with whichever one comes first.

    KyleS
     
  13. John Stone

    John Stone Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the wife and I talked to SBC/Ameritech yesterday, and did the do. They're charging $29 for the first 12 months, so we're going with DSL. We hope. They're sending us the modem, and Monday they're sending someone out to work on the phone box. Whatever that is. I have to catch up with the management office to make sure they can get access to it. Now I'll have to find a router for everything to hook up. Thanx for the input, guys.


    Freddy C.
     

Share This Page