What's new

OHM question and setup recomendations (1 Viewer)

TonyWright

Second Unit
I am looking to build a system using a Denon 3803 and Swans speakers. My question is whether that receiver will have any trouble running speakers where the nominal impedance is 4 ohms. I am looking at the following speakers for my theatre:

Swan 6.1 BC for the front mains (8 ohms)
Swan C3 BC for the center channel (8 ohms)
Swan R3 BC for the surround speakers (4 ohms)

I am worried that the surround speakers will be difficult for the receiver to drive and I don't want to damage the amp. I have limited knowledge of ohm ratings and the like as you can probably tell. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Also, any general information or suggestions anyone might have regarding the above described setup would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time.

Chris Cash

Stunt Coordinator
First off, the 3803 like most receivers can run either 4 ohms or 8 ohms. You cannot set it for certain channels. Either all of them are 4 or 8 ohms. Also, you shouldn't mix your speakers. They should all be matched as closely as possible. The only way I know that what you want can be accomplished is if you get a dedicated amp for the surrounds. But amps aren't cheap. I think it would be easier to rethink your speaker list to something more matched.

~C.C.~

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Tony. Welcome to HTF!

You are probably fine.

The rear speakers dont do nearly as much work as the front 3 speakers. The demands they place on your receiver are only about 20-30%. As long as you are not cranking the volume way up, it should be fine.

I do agree with Chris that having your speakers all match is important. I'm not familar with the Swan lineup, but are the R3 speakers tone-matched to the others? If so, it's unusual that the rears are 4 ohms and the fronts are 8 ohms. You might want to re-think the mix.