1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Official Playstation 3 Blu-Ray player Thread

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Seth=L, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. DaViD Boulet

    DaViD Boulet Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    8,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
    the PS3 doesn't modify aspect ratio of DVDs. it's likely your display which is locking into 16x9 "full" mode with a 480p signal even if it's a 4x3 signal that should really be pillarboxed on the sides.
     
  2. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    11,417
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
     
  3. JGiampa

    JGiampa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joe Giampa
    Do you all think that the Blu Ray movies on the PS3 are grainy?
    I only have Saw and the Sopranos but they are both grainy, especially Saw.
    The game Resistance loooks great and DVDs aren't grainy either, is it just the two peices of BD software I happened to buy?
    Joe
     
  4. Derek_J

    Derek_J Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Mine only does that with the PS3. No such problem with the 360 or a computer. I hope they add an aspect ratio adjustment feature to an upcoming update. Even the 360 has that.
    As for bluray discs being grainy, Superman Returns, yes, Talladega Nights, no. Maybe it depends on the film.
     
  5. Dave Mack

    Dave Mack Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kingdom of heaven, very minimal grain, BHD, very heavy grain...
     
  6. PeterTHX

    PeterTHX Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Dave Mack

    Dave Mack Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my monoprice HDMI switcher and new cables tonite, (monoprice rocks!) and switched the PS3 to HDMI from component. PQ is definitely a bit sharper and more detailed with HDMI. Also I directly compared the PS3 480P output through HDMI with my oppo player upscaled to 720P (native rate of my mits PJ) and I gotta tell you the 480P output of the PS3 was pretty damned close. (also the scaler in the mits is supposed to be very good too...) so everyone saying the 480P playback on the PS3 is "horrid" is definitely smoking something in my opinion.
    but what do I know? I am keeping my oppo through the switcher because it's region free and I have a bunch of PAL discs.
    [​IMG] d
     
  8. PeterTHX

    PeterTHX Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. DaViD Boulet

    DaViD Boulet Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    8,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
     
  10. PeterTHX

    PeterTHX Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The triangle brings up the onscreen control menu. Couple rows down and to the right is the "Image Quality Adjustment" setting. Select with "X" and adjust accordingly. I turned them both to "OFF"
     
  11. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    11,417
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Wow, thanks Sony for neglecting to put that in the instruction manual! [​IMG]
    Peter, what exactly do those values do, do you know? I suppose setting it to "zero" means turning them off? Is there anything on the BD side that should be enabled/disabled that you know of, to maximize playback?
    Thanks!
     
  12. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,701
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I'd like to hear everyone's feedback after modifying the settings for 480p and how it compares to their existing SD DVD player. I'm considering purchasing the PS3 for Blu-ray, but would also possibly use it for SD DVD if it's quite good.
     
  13. PeterTHX

    PeterTHX Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. Dave Mack

    Dave Mack Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dave, it is very good at 480P.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    11,417
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Putting Cars (DVD) through its paces, after adjusting the settings as PeterTHX pointed out, and it's looking really good on my 32" LCD TV (1366x768).
     
  16. Mark Butler

    Mark Butler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is the link to the real sony manual for the PS3.
    http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...ent/index.html
    It is constantly updated as they add new firmware fixes and changes.
    I do agree that the two included in the box manuals are kinda useless for anyone who wants to get indepth with this machine.
     
  17. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Seth, I am sticking this thread at the top of the forum.
     
  18. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,701
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Does anyone know for sure if a firmware upgrade will solve the black and white clipping issue over HDMI? (I don't understand why this seems to happen with almost every HD player released.)
     
  19. Jim Stegbauer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    I found a 60 gig at Target on Dec. 29th, but it is still in the box.....

    I know that I should have it hooked up and running, but I have a 52"XBR3 LCD on order along with the BDP-S1 and the STR-DA5200ES. I'm expecting delivery by the end of the month so it really not a problem.
     
  20. PerryD

    PerryD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I picked up a PS3 on Friday, opening up a Target credit card to save 10%. I'm thrilled with the quality of the machine. When I took it out the box, my housekeeper says "it's beautiful" [​IMG]
    It took a while configuring the wireless and setting up the audio, plus several hours of downloading demos (thank goodness I bought the 60GB model, I've downloaded 15GB worth of demos so far).
    I've played a couple Blu-ray movies and again no problems at all (unlike the glitchy HD-A1 player I have). Only odd flaw I've found so far (watching movies and during games) is that the HDMI connection resets when each screen is displayed (like FBI warnings, trailers, menus, etc) which causes a little flickering of the image. The HD-DVD player doesn't do this.
     

Share This Page