Odd request: ATI DVI-component adapter

Discussion in 'Hardware Classifieds' started by Shawn Solar, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. Shawn Solar

    Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an odd request for this

    http://www.ati.com/products/hdtvadapter/features.html

    Its a DVI-component adapter. I was just wondering if any one has one. Its for my ati 9800pro. I don't have cash right now but have dvd player and dvds and such I would willing to trade in full or part. Also have access to any wire that is not electrical. Thanks

    Shawn Solar
     
  2. Drew_W

    Drew_W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nifty. If you do find one somewhere, please shoot me a PM.
     
  3. GregClarke

    GregClarke Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Shawn Solar

    Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greg,
    sent you an email
     
  5. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh my crap!

    ive been messing with powerstrip (messed up 100+ times) for my HDTV. This maybee the answer!

    Is it only for ati cards though? DO they make one for Geforce
     
  6. Shawn Solar

    Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure Dave. This is only to send an HDTV signal to my TV for gaming and such. It converts an analog DVI to component and I believe there is a driver to install as well.
     
  7. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing for nVidia cards like that and you will likely not find any of the ATi adapters anywhere. I tried forever and then caved in and bought it......cause the $15 shipping is rediculous. There's no driver to be installed either, though they send you a disk with the Catalyst drivers and Remote Wonder drivers. By the way, the picture looks much improved on my 51" RPTV.
     
  8. Shawn Solar

    Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wayne.....I'm jealous[​IMG]
     
  9. RolandM

    RolandM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it seems to come up on ATI's site as $50 CDN... The shipping probably should be less than what it cost to go to the US as well. Where do you live in Ontario? If you live near Toronto, you could probably just go over to ATI (In Thornhill) and pick it up and save on the shipping.

    I also think you'd have a hard time finding it elsewhere--it looks like ATI proprietary stuff there. But you might be able to find it for a little cheaper if you check some computer stores for it. They might have it or they might be able to get it for you for a little cheaper but I doubt by much.

    About the adapter--no I don't believe this will work on other video cards DVI out or not... In fact I think it plugs into the VGA port not the DVI. (Edit: Actually there are two versions one for VGA, the other for DVI).

    It is a proprietary ATI device and AFAIK the ATI card(s) it is for have a hardware transcoder built into it to give the special output for this adapter. It either auto-detects the adapter's presence or you have to change something in the driver for it to work.
     
  10. DonnyD

    DonnyD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's an adapter I didn't know about! I've been using the GeForce card and DVI output to a LCD flatscreen for several months now and love the clarity and depth..... now yall have me wanting to run this to my HDTV........
     
  11. Shawn Solar

    Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Roland,

    I'm about 2 hours from thornhill at least. I tried at the place that built my computer and they didn't have it. Moneys tight as my brother is getting married in the next few months and my fiancee's in college. I'm still hoping someone may have one that is willing to trade[​IMG]
     
  12. Drew_W

    Drew_W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page