OAR and the Chance to Persuade

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brandon_S, Oct 30, 2001.

1. Brandon_S

Brandon_S Second Unit

If this is in the wrong forum feel free to move it admins.
    Seeing as I am a college student it was only a matter of time before I had to take a public speaking class. Well I have been in that class now for more than 2 months and am enjoying it. My next speech must be a Persuasive piece approximatley 5 minutes in length. Seeing as HT is a passion of mine, I decided to make my topic OAR and how important it is in home video and DVD. After a quick survey today, I can see my class is pretty split on the topic of OAR. My question is this: what support can I use to make my case the best it can be? Of course I am using the Director's original intent argument. I plan on using the great demo from the Die Hard Five Star Collection DVD as a demonstration of what panning and scanning does to the composition of a shot. Hopefully by next week, there will be about about 15 more OAR supporters in the world. Any help would be appreciated!
    Brandon Smith
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
    http://sweb.uky.edu/~btsmit2
    [email protected]

2. David Lambert

David Lambert Executive Producer

If you need an additional demo than the Die Hard example, then you can use the last five minutes of the "Director's Series" supplement included with Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.
    Leonard Nimoy demonstrates pan-and-scan vs widescreen by showing on-screen simultaneously the scene where Gillian is driving the pickup truck, Spock is in the middle, and Kirk is on the other side. Kirk and Gillian are debating, and Spock is just looking from one to the other as each one speaks.
    It makes a splendid example of hearing voices you can't see because the 2nd person's response is too brief to be worth a pan over to them.