NY Times Reporter Faking Stories ...

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Aurel Savin, May 11, 2003.

1. Aurel Savin

Aurel Savin Supporting Actor

Interesting and somewhat disturbing story in the Sunday NY Times today about a staff reporter that faked major stories for over 5 months.

http://www.cnn.com/2003/US/Northeast...ter/index.html

Something came to mind and there is a question I have for you after reading this story.

It is mentioned in the CNN article that the reporter was initially an Intern and was hired by the paper full time based on his claim that he finished college, when in reality he still had a year left before graduating.

I found this interesting as I am a college graduate and the few jobs I have had since graduation in 1993, I was always "asked" about my college studies, but was never asked to furnish proof of graduation.

Did any one of you have ever had to furnish proof of graduation for a job or most employers "just take your word for it" and look at your resume as gospel?

I know in certain countries in Europe you basically have to go to a job interview with a copy of your College Diploma.

2. Patrick McCart

Patrick McCart Lead Actor

Patrick McCart
    I wonder if the reporter argued, "You take the pictures and I'll write the stories."

3. Cees Alons

Cees Alons Moderator

Cees Alons

4. Chris Lockwood

Chris Lockwood Producer

> Did any one of you have ever had to furnish proof of graduation

The employer is more likely to contact the school directly if they want to check. People could make themselves a fake diploma.

And CNN reporting on someone else's journalistic integrity is rather interesting. [​IMG]

5. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer