'Nuther newbie connection question...

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by BrettEr, Jan 19, 2005.

1. BrettEr

BrettEr Auditioning

Hello, this is my first post. I am a newbie to HT, and A/V in general.

Well, I'll give you a short bit of back ground on my setup. Last week I purchased a Mitsubishi WD-62725 DLP Television, a Denon A/V surround reciever, and a Monster Power Center (HTS 2600). About a month ago (prior to buying my HT equipment) I bought a DirecTV TIVO reciever (non-HD). I also have a PS2 that I am using as my DVD player and game unit. I also have a set of rabbit ears to recieve the local HD broadcasts.

Ok, Now I have everything wired through the power center, to the A/V unit and then into the TV with a component video connection. With it this way it works great to view movies and Satellite TV, but not HD. I have the rabbit ears connected to the TV so that I can get the football games and that stuff in HD. But, with that set up, I can only use the TV audio.

I guess I have a few questions, but I'll just ask this first one...

How can I set it up so that I can utilize the AV reciever to watch local HDTV through the rabbit ears?

TIA.

2. Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

There is a Digital Audio Output on the back panel of your set (Number 12 on page 13 of your manual). This is a coax digital audio output that you can hook to a coax digital audio in on your receiver using a standard RCA video cable. Assign the coax in on your receiver to the TV/Sat/Cable input. This takes care of the digital audio.

Then hook the analog audio outs on the TV (Monitor Output Audio 2, Number 5 on page 13 of your manual) to the analog audio ins for TV/Sat/Cable on your receiver using a standard red/white audio cable, so the non-digital channel audio will also play through your surround system.