Novice needing help with home theatre design

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by James.R, Sep 17, 2005.

1. James.R

James.R Auditioning

Let begin by saying that I’m a complete novice when it comes to home theatre systems. We are in the early stages of purchasing a new home; several of the models have dedicated rooms for home theatres, while others do not. Because in some instances I’ll need to convert a bedroom to a media room, what kind of insulation/soundproofing material is suggested for walls, ceiling, and the floor (in all cases it will be new construction with the media room will be on the second floor)? Are there any special concerns about power sources, other than a reliable surge protector?

Additionally, is there a site where the size of the screen in relation to the size of the room can be determined (best viewing from screen to seating area)? I currently have a 36”, 32”, and a couple of 25” sets for bedrooms and the living room but have not purchased a system for the media room, yet. Since budget will be an immediate issue, I'd like a system that would be easy to upgrade in the future.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

2. James.R

James.R Auditioning

anyone?

3. drobbins

drobbins Screenwriter

Dave
    James,

I will try to answer some of your questions.
    Soundproofing is something to be done in the construction phase. It is too involved to answer in one post, but if you do a search, there are many different options depending on the room & budget.
    As for power, keep all your equipment on one dedicated circuit if possible. This will avoid grounding issues. A good surge protector is a must.
    If you check out some theaters in our gallery you can see many different styles of theaters. There are many factors you need to consider.
    - Budget
    - Is it going to be used for everyday TV or mainly movies & games?