What's new

Not really happy with my RPTV... what should I do? (1 Viewer)

Aaron Gould

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Aaron Gould
Just under a year ago, I purchased a Toshiba 57" RPTV (57HDX82). At the time, I thought it was great! Normal 4:3 TV broadcasts looked great in stretch mode 1, and DVD's looked amazing. But then again, I graduated from 27" TV. I'm sure anything bigger looked better.

But here I am a year later, thinking -- should I really have bought this!?

Now, my TV was never calibrated. I understand that calibration helps, but I'm not sure it would alleviate my concerns. (If anyone thinks it would, please tell me to spend the cash so I can get out of this funk! :))

There are two things that concern me:

1. The burn-in potential. I love video games, and (want to) play them a lot. Having to worry about this keeps me from fully enjoying my games. In other words, I don't want to play very long in fear of damaging the set. Many games (ie. expecially shooters) have elements on the screen in the same spot for the entire game, like ammo count, etc. (By the way, my contrast/brightness is around 45 because of this.)

2. Stretching 4:3 isn't ideal. I know the stretch modes aren't really that bad (especially when I can use stretch mode 2 during 4:3 letterbox broadcast), but 4:3 non-letterbox broadcasts will be around for at least a couple years. The stretch mode 1 on my set isn't as unnoticable to me then it was when I first got the set. I swap to normal mode, and it looks great. I now wish I could use it all the time, but I can't as the grey bars will burn-in. My Satellite to DVD use ratio is about 50:50 so both modes are of equal importance.

I'm wondering if I should just sell this thing at a loss and get a front projector, or smaller DLP set. I would appreciate any advice or ideas on this. Somebody please ease my concerns! :frowning:

Jason Sanderson

Auditioning
Sell it to me :)