Noob needs some help!

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Derek*M, Jan 21, 2006.

1. Derek*M

Derek*M Auditioning

Hey guys im new to the whole home audio scene if you could call it that, but have been doing car audio for a while so I know a thing or 2. For my first project I wanted to start out by making a set of bookshelf speakers. I was wondering what you guys thought of these drivers...

Since it wont let me post links yet the tweets are on madisound and the part number is PL27TG05 1" Textile dome tweeter. and the mids are on parts express the part number there is 295-360 DAYTON RS125S-8 5" REFERENCE SERIES SHIELDED WOOFER. Sorry about that but if you go on both of those websites and search for that im sure that what I am looking at will pop up.

If you dont feel that those are a good match or for any reason feel that I should not get them feel free to let me know. I am open to opinions on any aspect of this project!

I dont really want to spend a whole lot of money on this project because it is my first and I am on a college budget. I do have a 2ch reciever that I am going to be powering them with it puts out 105 watts per channel.

I also know that I am going to have to bulid a crossover for these which I have never done before, if you guys could give me a site that would have some info on building one that would be great.

Thanks in advance for any help!!!
    Derek

2. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

Go with someone's proven design. This is a totally different world than car audio.

What's the budget?

3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
  4. Derek*M

Derek*M Auditioning

I really dont want something pre built. The only reason that I want to do this project is so that I can learn a thing or 2 about home audio. This summer I plan to build an entire 5.1 system, but I wanna start small with something like this.

5. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

Budget?