What's new

Noob needing Advice (1 Viewer)

sixxxgauge

Auditioning
Real Name
Travis
I am new to the pc tv concept and was wanting to ask a few questions:

I am thinking about purchasing Westinghouse LVM-42w2 42" LCD Monitor, also Nvidia Dual TV Tuner Card.
What I want to do Is put the 42" monitor in my living room and using my computer (3.2 ghz processor 2 gig ram wirless card) hooking into the vga input on the Monitor. I also have cable, but have never tried hooking it up to a computer.
What my main plan is running my cable into the Nvidia tuner card, using media center recording the cable shows I want and viewing them through the Westinghouse monitor. Using the wireless connection connecting to my network to save and view other movies/shows I have on my server. Also I have my xbox 360 wireless I could play on the LCD monitor as well.

Can anyone tell me if this is possible or if there is another way to do this. Or maybe if there is any better products out there then the stuff I have planned to buy? basically I want to be able to record my fav. stuff and save to my server and be able to rewatch any show from my server on the monitor.

Thanks in advance,
Travis

homthtr

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Steve
First I would see what your cable signal looks like through your tuner card.