Noob here: Polk VS Athena

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by WilliamPC, May 24, 2004.

1. WilliamPC

WilliamPC Agent

Been lurkin here, great forum, thanks!

Just bought a Sammy 50" DLP, H/K AV230 and a Sammy SIR-TS160 DirecTV HD STB.

I need speakers.

I like the Athena Audition line from Best Buy but also like the Polk RTi line from CC. Because of a connection I have I can the comparable Polks for about the same price as the Athena's. I like the sound of both although its hard to tell "in store".

Any comments on either of these. My room is 14X20 and my budget is $1000. I was thinking about the 6.5 bookshelves matching center and dipoles from each line.

Thanks!

2. Drew_W

Drew_W Screenwriter

You should take home a stereo pair of speakers from each line and do some critical listening with familiar music. Invest in some cheap banana plugs to make switching easier..

Even if music isn't a priority, remember that most films feature large scale soundtracks...which are...music.

Then go from there...

You also need a sub if you want to really "experience" movies.

3. WilliamPC

WilliamPC Agent

Thanks Drew, good idea if they (BB and CC) will let me do that.

As for the sub I think I may build my own.....Adire Tempest or maybe something completely different like Arc Audio's (car audio) soon to be released FL series sub.

Quality wise are Polk and Athena comparable?

4. Adam.Heckman

Adam.Heckman Second Unit

They (the stores) may not 'let' you take them home, but if you have a high enough line of credit available, both stores are pretty good with returns. So, buy both, audition, and return the ones that don't live up!

I own the Athena AS-B2 speakers from BB. I love them. My room is fairly small though. The AS-F2 speakers are down to 500 dollars now... a hell of a deal. They have gotten RAVE reviews, especially when driven by a good amp.
    I can't speak for the polks.