Non Plate amp for Sub

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Zak Ruck, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. Zak Ruck

    Zak Ruck Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I decided to go with a non plate amp for the sub that a friend built for me, so I'm researching them as I type this. What are some good brands to look at. I've seen the Samson ones listed on SVS's website, but what are some others? I'm looking for anything between 250 and 700watts, and not too expensive. It will be driving a 12" Stryke AV12 in a sealed box.

    Thanks a lot,

    Zak
     
  2. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    QSC and Crown are two good brands.

    i just searched ebay until i found a good deal on them. look under musical instruments then power amplifiers to see the pro amps.

    i ended up getting a crown CE1000, which does 450wpc at 4ohms and 1100w in bridged mono at 4 ohms, for 260 dollars shipped. if you dont want to spend this much, you should be able to find one with a lower power for less.
     
  3. Drew Eckhardt

    Drew Eckhardt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running Adcom 555ii stereo amps (about $400 used) on my front bass drivers + sub woofer. No fan, low noise, and otherwise reasonable.

    200W into 8 Ohms, 325 into 4, 600 bridged into 8 Ohms, 800 bridged into 4.
     
  4. Paul Spencer

    Paul Spencer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    250 watts for an AV12 in a sealed box is not much! John suggests 350 watts will get most of its performance, but that depends on the alignment. Velodyne sealed subs use 1.2kw as I recall!!!!

    I'd consider 350 watts a minimum, sealed subs need more power than vented. Considering budget 500 watts might be a good place to start, 700 wont give you much gain. If money is no object 1kw would work well from what I have heard.
     
  5. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, in the past there have been some members who have utilized plate amps, but they didn't mount them on the sub cabinet. Instead, they created a separate "box" to house the plate amp. This also might be an option for you to consider.
     
  6. Robert_Gaither

    Robert_Gaither Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Literally any Pro-amp will be more than adequate though I would recommend going to your local music stores and see if the fans run loud and depending on how it's connected if it can handle he impedence load (I assume your driver is dual 2 ohms, therefore an amp ran bridged and the woofer wired in series would need a minimum of 4 ohm bridged compatible for example).
     
  7. Zak Ruck

    Zak Ruck Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the info! Unfortunatly I had to go with the good ole' PE plate amp. I friend of mine built a nice wooden box for it, so I have it mounted remotely in my audio rack. Eventually i'd like to get a nice QSC or Crown Pro amp, but until then I'll use the PE one.

    Thanks guys!!
     

Share This Page