What's new

No TV picture through Onkyo TX-SR805 (1 Viewer)

ujnija bass

Auditioning
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
2
Real Name
miki
So frustrating:frowning: For last several days I'm trying to get it right, just doesn't happen.
I have my Time Warner Samsung box connected with HDMI to Onkyo TX-SR805, than HDMI out to my Sony Bravia.No picture, the message shows that STB failed authentication with HDMI TV.Sometimes picture comes for fraction of a second and goes away.I have HDMI monitor set to YES.
When I connect my Sony blue ray player everything is ok.
This is so frustrating, can anybody help me?
Thanks!
 

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 7, 2000
Messages
6,746
Location
ATL
Real Name
JOHN
Sounds like the problem is with your Set Top Box [STB] not the Onkyo. Probably an HDMI handshaking issue. I would contact your cable company. You might validate this further by switching to component out on the STB. I'm betting you'll get a picture that way.

Good Luck

John
 

Kevin Stewart

Second Unit
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
363
Location
Texas
Real Name
Kevin Stewart
Have you tried disconnecting and reconnecting the HDMI cables?
Have you tried changing the order with which things are turned on (i.e. turn on the STB and then the TV, instead of the TV and then the STB)?
Have you tried connecting the STB directly to the TV (with each cable)?
Your Sony Blu Ray is also connected via HDMI?
Have you tried switching the HDMI cables from your Blu Ray to your STB?
As was mentioned, have you tried component from the STB?
 

ujnija bass

Auditioning
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
2
Real Name
miki
Thanks for replies guys!
I tried all of that, without any success.
Still getting only sound.I have my blue ray connected with HDMI through receiver ,
no problem, picture and sound beautiful.
When I connect STB directly to the TV no problem also.
I am quite sure that this is Time Warner box issue.
I'll give them a call and see, probably I'll ask for a new box.
 

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2004
Messages
2,555
Location
Mechanicsburg, PA
Real Name
Dave

Sounds like a problem with your cable box for sure....

How many HDMI inputs on your TV? If you have more than one, other than convenience, there is not technical reason to run the cable box through your AVR. I have my DirecTV box hooked directly to my TV and have a TOSLINK to my AVR. The main benefit of this configuration is my ability to watch TV without turning the AVR on. However if I want to listen through the AVR (like l did last night for VH1's WHO honers show), I can.
 

Links2

Auditioning
Joined
Feb 16, 2009
Messages
4
Real Name
Gary
What is TOSLINK?
I am having the exact same issues with my system:
- Sony Blu-ray player,
- Starchoice Satellite HD receiver(dvi-to-hdmi cable so need optical cable)
- Pioneer VSX-01-TXH receiver
- Sony Bravia 1080p television

I have everything hooked up as should be and cannot get a picture. I even brought the receiver back in to where I bought it, they got it set up to work as it is supposed to(but instead of satellite receiver, they used a dvd player that required an optical cable(they said it should be the same thing...they connected it in the satellite HDMI slot)...they got picture, sound, everything...I get it home feeling good and then reconnected everything again, and once again, no picture...sound is great, just no pic...Blu-ray works like a hot damn...I even connected compnent cables to try it that way, nothing nada zip sfa
 

Links2

Auditioning
Joined
Feb 16, 2009
Messages
4
Real Name
Gary
Ok, I got it working using the extra HDMI slot on my TV(went directly from satellite receiver to TV, left the optical cable connected from satellite box to receiver)....I still have to manually switch my TV to HDMI 2 but I have a picture now...I paid $600 for this receiver to be able to switch back and forth between TV and BD by just using the receiver, oh well...still doesn't explain as to why I have to do it this way, it just doesn't seem right
 

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
5,854
Location
Bay area, Ca
Real Name
Gene
Toslink is another name for an optical cable. So is SPDIF (Sony-Philips-Digital-InterFace).

As was mentioned earlier some cable/sat boxes don't seem to work with all hdmi components. Make sure the Satellite boxes video/HD menu is setup correctly with with DVI as the video output if there's a choice to be made.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Forum statistics

Threads
357,028
Messages
5,128,958
Members
144,276
Latest member
acinstallation156
Recent bookmarks
0
Top