1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

no sound - I'm at a total loss, please help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by crankbait09, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    Little rundown.....

    I have a Denon Receiver AVR-1513. I have an LG 55LN5100 TV

    At one point, I had my TVCable box, PS3, and DVD player all hooked up. When I changed source, the sound would come through the surround sound speakers, and not through the TV, unless I had the stereo off. Which was what I wanted.

    Recently, I disconnected the Cable box, PS3, and DVD player.
    I then ran the HDMI cable that went from the monitor port on the Denon, back up to the back of the TV port that reads HDMI IN. In my mind, that means any sound that was on the TV/monitor, would automatically go through the Denon. But that is not the case. Right now, no matter what buttons I push or toggle through, the sound will not go through the Denon. I can only seem to get sound through the TV. I even tried disconnecting the HDMI cable, and running only the optical cable for sound. Still nothing. I even swapped out HDMI cables too. nothing

    When I change the Denon to FM radio, it works fine. So, I'm obviously missing something here. I am only wanting the TV to go through the Denon at this time. It's a simple set up now, but yet, I'm failing. I had no problems with MORE devices hooked up :rolleyes:

    Any ideas?

    Here are some pictures of what I currently have going on:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Message #2 of 20 Oct 9, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
    Mark-P

    Mark-P Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Camas, WA
    Real Name:
    Mark Probst
    According to those pictures, the HDMI on your TV is input and the monitor HDMI you are plugged into on the receiver is output. If you want to get sound from your TV to your receiver it won't be through HDMI because your TV doesn't have HDMI out. The only output on that TV is optical. So hook the optical out on the TV to the optical input of the receiver.

    But then I'm also wondering, what could you you possibly be watching on that TV with nothing hooked up to it? No antenna, cable, or anything to the inputs?

    Update: on second thought scratch that, there’s no need to have sound go from your TV to receiver because the TV is not the source of anything you watch. Just hook your DVD player, cable box and PS3 into the 3 hdmi ports on your receiver and you will be back to where you were. Why the heck did you disconnect them?
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,446
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    What Mark said. You can’t get sound from the TV is there is nothing connected to it to generate sound from. On top of that, nothing is connected to your receiver that can generate sound either.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  4. Dave Moritz

    Dave Moritz Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    7,597
    Likes Received:
    1,514
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    California
    Real Name:
    Dave Moritz
    Unless you plug something into the HDMI input you will get nothing!
     
  5. Malcolm R

    Malcolm R Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17,489
    Likes Received:
    4,382
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    Yep, as others have said, you need to add some sources in order to have any audio to output. Currently, based on the pics, the only sound available at the Denon is the radio tuner.

    There is nothing being transmitted through the HDMI cable from the TV to the Denon. It only works in the reverse (Denon to TV, like a One Way street).
     
  6. Message #6 of 20 Oct 10, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
    crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    hmmmm, Alright, that makes sense.
    The reason I disconnected everything was because I no longer use any of it.
    The PS3 was only hooked up so I could watch Netflix through it. The DVD player never gets used any longer since I am streaming everything now.

    About a month ago, I started using the Fire Stick. As you probably know, the fire stick allows me to watch Netflix and Amazon movies through it, so again, the PS3 and DVD player is no longer needed.

    When I watch movies through the Fire Stick/TV, I was hoping to get the sound to go through the Denon.

    (On a side note, although I don't think it matters, on the left side of the tv (along the edge), there is another HDMI port that is labeled as HDMI-2. I didn't look to see if it was an input/output but I imagine its' gonna be the same as the HDMI that I'm currently using.)

    So is there anything that I can do, to get the sound to work for the TV?
     
  7. Malcolm R

    Malcolm R Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17,489
    Likes Received:
    4,382
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    As Mark said above, get an Optical Digital cable and connect the Optical OUT jack on the TV to the Optical IN jack on the Denon. That should send the TV sound to the Denon, but that appears to be the only way for this to happen as that is the only output option on the TV.

    upload_2019-10-10_11-41-2.

    You may need to adjust the input settings on the Denon to recognize the Optical input source.

    And, yes, the HDMI-2 jack is likely to just be a second input.
     
  8. Message #8 of 20 Oct 10, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
    JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,501
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Shawn, you need to grasp the concept that virtually all connections are one way. The exception is hdmi ARC, which you don't have anyway, so no need to go into that. So, components usually need to be connected to an input on the receiver (for audio) first, then video is sent from the hdmi monitor output on the receiver to the TV. So, you have two options with the Fire Stick. What I would do is connect it to one of the hdmi inputs on the receiver, and have the hdmi output to the TV, like you already have it. For some reason people get it into their heads that a Fire Stick has to be connected to the TV, but it can be connected to the receiver.

    Edit: I would do that instead of what was suggested above, which was posted while I was typing. You'll get use of all audio formats (5.1 surround, when available) the way I suggested, where using the optical output will convert all your audio to 2 channel. But the optical cable option is available as a fallback. Plus, your TV seems to only have one hdmi input, so where do you connect the Fire Stick if you connect it directly to the TV?
     
    crankbait09 likes this.
  9. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    just to add here, If you refer to the OP, I mentioned that the optical cable was also connected, but nothing happened.
     
  10. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    ohhhh, I am one of those that thought the fire stick needs to be connected to the TV.
     
  11. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    I plug the fire stick into either of the HDMI ports on the TV. It works in both. I have tried it both ways, and both work as they should.
     
  12. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,501
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    You probably just needed to reconfigure the input on your receiver. You need to tell it you're using the optical in instead of hdmi...

    Still best to connect the Fire Stick directly to the receiver.
     
  13. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    Now that I know it doesn't need to be in the TV, I'll definitely put it into the receiver. I'll report back once I do this.
    Thank you!
     
  14. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,501
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    The only down side to this is you (probably) have to turn on the receiver to get audio. Some people want to be able to use the Fire Stick with only the TV on, and then it (usually, but not always) needs to be connected to the TV. It depends on if your receiver has a passthrough capability, but that's a whole other bag of worms.
     
  15. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    Yes, I believe I know what you are saying here. I ran into this problem when I had everything connected. If I had, let's say the PS3 on, and turned everything off.......the next time I turn the system on, the system would remember that I had the receiver on for sound. I would need to turn the receiver on, then when everything was engaged and on, I could then turn off the receiver, and the sound would then go through the TV. So I was able to bypass the receiver by turning on, then off.

    is that what you were referring to?
     
  16. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,501
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Yeah, probably. Of course, since you now have only one source device, you probably don't have to do that anymore.
     
  17. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    Not that you had any doubts, but plugging the fire stick into the receiver WORKED!! I thank you.
    Now, the fire stick only works when the receiver is on. So it's either surround sound all the time or nothing. Pick your poison I guess.

    Now that you got that to work, I have a couple more questions that came up due to this change (maybe).

    1. I notice now, that I need to turn the receiver volume up really high to get decent sound out of it. When it was set up prior to disconnecting the equipment, it didn't take much to get it loud. Now I'm at 70/100. This might have nothing to do with this, but figured I'd ask, Maybe I just need to adjust the speaker settings within the receiver.

    2. I've always had this problem, but when I play the FM radio through the receiver, I have to turn the volume up really loud in order to hear anything. That was happening before I disconnected everything. Just never dove into the problem to try and fix it. Any ideas there?
     
  18. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    I think I figured my volume issue out. I turned up the volume of each speaker in the settings of the Denon. Guess they were just too low.

    thanks all for the help
     
  19. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,501
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Doh! That didn't occur to me. You can't use passthrough, because when the receiver is turned off, the Fire Stick isn't receiving power. Pick your poison is exactly right.
     
  20. crankbait09

    crankbait09 Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Shawn
    I have my surround sound back, so I'll live with the receiver having to be on ;)
     

Share This Page