no sound from my digital source

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by steve___t, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. steve___t

    steve___t Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just bought a new stereo and when i hook it up with my coxial cable there is no sound. it only plays with the analog cables. my dvd play is old and was cheap to begin with.....can my reciever not process the signal coming from the dvd player....or is my cable defective?
     
  2. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you mean the digital connection from the dvd player to the receiver? it's possible you may have to "assign" a digital connection to a particular input.

    list your gear and how you currently have stuff hooked up. that will help us help you. [​IMG]
     
  3. steve___t

    steve___t Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dvd player : apex ad-660

    cable: interlink datalink100

    yamaha htr - 5660


    on the back of my dvd player i pluged the cable in the the pcm/bitstream coaxial port.....i connected the other end to the digital in cd connector on my receiver (it is the only coaxial one i have on my receiver)
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I believe that is your problem.

    There are 2 different types of digital signals:

    - PCM (Pulse Code Modulation) provided by CD players
    - Dolby Digital provided by DVD players

    Your reciever has a digital-input for a "CD" player so my guess is it only can handle PCM signals.

    That receiver is listed as a DD/DTS unit. You need to find the other coaxial-digital connection that is attached to the DVD player input.
     
  5. steve___t

    steve___t Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks a lot
     
  6. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought of something else last night:

    My Yamaha has a setup menu for the coaxial-digital input. It has 3 settings you can toggle between: PCM, DD, AUTO. You should pick "AUTO" for auto-detect. My guess is you may have the receiver set to "PCM" so it wont recognize the Dolby Digital signals.

    Let us know what works.
     
  7. steve___t

    steve___t Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still can't get it....i have it set to auto and i assigned the input to the dvd player....do you think it might be a problem with the cable?
     
  8. steve___t

    steve___t Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the help.

    there was a setting on my dvd player for audio output....i had it selected to analog.....

    again i appreciate the help
     
  9. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Duhhhhh... I should have suggested you check this as well. [​IMG] Glad it's working.
     

Share This Page