No sound comming from super audio cd? What's up?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Ferdinand*T, Mar 1, 2004.

1. Ferdinand*T

Ferdinand*T Second Unit

I have a Denon 4802 receiver and a Denon 2900 that can play super audio cd's. When I put the disc in the DVD player recognizes it as a super audio cd and it plays but I don't hear any sound. When I switch the player from super audio to cd it plays it but but not stereo or multi. Any suggestions? This is my first attempt at listening to a super audio cd. Am I doing something wrong?

2. Phil A

Phil A Producer

Phil
    Do you have the analog cables connected? The digital cable will pass DVD-V sound or CD sound but not SACD or DVD-A.

3. Ferdinand*T

Ferdinand*T Second Unit

Ha! Thats it I'm using a digital cable. THANK YOU! I'll go buy a new cable tomorrow! Learned something new. I love these boards!

4. Phil A

Phil A Producer

Phil
    If you want multi-channel sound, assuming your Denon 4802 has a multi-channel input, you will need 3 (left & right, left surround and right surround, center and sub) cable pairs. You can still listen in stereo by selecting the multi-channel input of your receiver. Also, for multi-channel you will want to set-up your level controls for each channel.

5. Michael St. Clair

If you don't have full-sized mains, you'll need to engage bass management in your player (I'm not sure if the 4802 has bass management for analog inputs).

6. Ferdinand*T

Ferdinand*T Second Unit

Hmmm... so I need to connect each speaker with an AV cable?

7. Shawn C

Shawn C Screenwriter

Yes. SACD and DVD-A are analog output only. You'll need 6 new cables for the whole deal. I have a Denon 2803, but yours is probably the same. Look for the EXT. IN button on your remote or on the front of the receiver. That will enable those inputs.

8. Rachael B

Rachael B Producer

Rachael Bellomy