No parallel surfaces in a theater

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bill Catherall, Sep 7, 2001.

1. Bill Catherall

Bill Catherall Screenwriter

I've been thinking about acoustic treatments and wondering how much it would improve things to have non-parallel surfaces in a home theater. I've drawn up some preliminary plans so I can get some feedback from everyone. I drew up the plans to scale using AutoCAD. You can view them http://wcatherall.homestead.com/files/theater/layout/layout.html
    [​IMG]

2. Jens Raethel

Jens Raethel Second Unit

Jens
    Bill-
    Im no expert but it looks nice!
    I see some similaritys to my own project that I just finished. I had expert help in planning the acustic layout.
    You allways have to do some compromises, but the result went out very well!
    Take a look at my homepage under the "architect" page.
    Good luck!
    Jens [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Go see my new theater CINEMAX! updated 2001-08-27
    And PLEASE sign my guestbook!!
    http://cine-max.tripod.com/cinemax/

3. Bill Lucas

Bill Lucas Supporting Actor

Bill,
    Room dimensions that are not multiples of each other or divisible by the same number are much more important than using non-parallel walls. Whether the walls are parallel or not you will have issues to deal with regarding room resonances. Check out Russ Hershelmann's fine series in SGHT for excellent mathematical information about proper room construction and placement of speakers. Good luck.

4. Deane Johnson

Deane Johnson Supporting Actor

Bill, I won't comment on the acoustical properties other than to say they would have to be much, much better than parallel surfaces.
    What I really like is the visual effect of this type layout. I saw a HT designed this way a couple of years ago and the effect is striking. If I were working with space that allowed this approach, it is the only way I would do it.
    Deane

5. Tom Vodhanel

Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer