No need for HD-DVD?

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Adam Portrais, Sep 19, 2003.

1. Adam Portrais

Adam Portrais Stunt Coordinator

Now I'm no expert (but if anyone asks you, you think I am) but I came across this and wondered if anyone knew anything positive or negative.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....uct&cmp=%20%20

Has anyone seen this in action? Does it do what it says and if so, how well? Is this just something for the wanna-be tech-heads that have to have anything new? If this truely does what it says could there be no use for HD-DVD?

Again, I'm not an expert. I'm just throwing out questions to start discussion (hopefully not an arument, just disscussion). And hey, it would be cool if our fearless leaders at HTF could hook us up with a review of this new "marvel". But hey, whatever.

2. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer

The BEST video processors in the world (the Teranex machines and Snell&Willcox's Interpolator) are not powerful enough to make DVD look like HD (they come close, though. Sweet, sweet Teranex... *Homer Simpson drool*), and their prices start at $20k. Trust me, a $300 DVD player is not gonna top them.

Players such as this Samsung model and the Bravo D1 can greatly improve a DVD's picture (the Bravo's amazing), but they're by no means a substitue for true HD. They're simply upconverting the picture, not creating new detail. They ARE worth the money, but keep your expectations in check if you do buy one [​IMG]

3. GlennH

GlennH Cinematographer

Glenn

4. Cris K

Cris K Agent

Here's a silly question: Doesn't my TV already do this?

-cris

5. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer

Yes, but a 720p/1080i signal delivered via DVI is a sight to behold. Not all devices have the same quality when it comes to upscaling.

Of course, if you're already feeding your TV via DVI, then I guess you don't have much to gain with these players.

6. Paul_Scott

Paul_Scott Lead Actor