'No Disc' Message- Please Help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James Edward, Jul 27, 2002.

  1. James Edward

    James Edward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since my neighbor's son inserted a non-region 1 disc into his Sony 360 DVD player, all discs now come up with the error 'NO DISC'.

    Is there some sort of lockout feature that can be reset, if indeed this is the case? Any input appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Hmm.. Non-region1? Sounds fishy...

    Was the disc a real one and not pirated? My friends have had pirated discs screw up their players... dunno if they go it fixed or not though.
     
  3. James Edward

    James Edward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    He 'fessed up and showed me the disc. Definitely a pirated disc. Any suggestions on how to fix the player?
     
  4. Walter Kittel

    Walter Kittel Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1998
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    602
    Assuming that you haven't already tried this - disconnect the power cord from the player for a brief duration. Turning off the power from the front panel control, by itself; isn't enough to completely reset the player ( based on my experience with a Toshiba DVD player, anyway. )

    - Walter.
     
  5. Leon Liew

    Leon Liew Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine play pirated disc flawlessly.Perhaps your neighbor's player needs a checkup.
     
  6. James Edward

    James Edward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unplugging the unit did not work either. Anyone with any ideas on how to fix this problem- please respond. Thanks...
     
  7. TomCW

    TomCW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    James, I sent you an email with a document on how to do a calibration on the DVD player. It worked for me. I would have just sent this link, but the site is down.
    http://www.cyberspace.org/~awh/index.html
    Tom
     
  8. Irens Cruz

    Irens Cruz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    James
    Sorry to tell you that, but welcome to the team. I had the same problem on my player and I had to get a new one.
    Check the link below and you will find that hundreds of people had the same problem.
    http://www.audioreview.com/DVD,Playe...3_1587crx.aspx
    Give it a try on TomĀ“s suggestion, it may work
    Jr. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. James Edward

    James Edward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Service menu calibration did not work- error message came up- I believe at the point where it was trying to read the disc.
    Any other ideas appreciated, but I will begin to tell my neighbor of the virtues of a progressive scan player...

    Thanks
     
  10. DeborahK

    DeborahK Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2000
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    And also, one hopes, the virtues of living a clean life sans pirated software! [​IMG]
    Deborah
     

Share This Page