NHL 2003 XBOX help for a beginner gamer

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by McPaul, Nov 26, 2002.

1. McPaul

McPaul Screenwriter

Paul M
    Alright, I have a question. I'm new to xbox and new to gaming as a whole. (the only thing I play on my computer is short games, like pool, or something)
    Now, I've started out on the beginner level and found that quite easy right from the start. I was shutting people out 20-0 and other similar scores with a 5 minute period. I've been a hockey fan of the REAL NHL for as long as I can remember, and think I know how to emulate certain plays on the xbox, enough to be effective, even with my horrible use of the controls. So I played a season in beginner, and also international mode as Japan, and won, and unlocked a lot of NHL cards, etc... so I think I know what I'm doing on "beginner mode".
    So I switch to "easy mode" and I'm getting killed all over the place. Not killed, I mean DEVASTATED!! If I lose a faceoff in my own zone the computer scores right off the faceoff. I am not as fast to the puck and the computer players beat me to it from well back. None of my pokechecks are successful, but I get pokechecked about half the time on my rushes. I NEVER get breakaways, and can't score off my dekes. My goaltenders suck and I have trouble clearing the computer players from the front of the net. I'm playing a much easier team with a top team, so it's nothing related to that, but I've been playing easy for QUITE some time, and still suck, what's the deal?
    Now, I'll admit I'm not the greatest gamer out there, I'm really just getting started in the world of gaming, and have a lot to learn, but this is something I'd expect on the Harder levels. I figured my hockey knowledge would help overcome a few things but obviously not.
    alright, I have some questions about gameplay, regardless of difficulty level.