Next on my list of questions - memory & cpu...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ted Lee, Aug 20, 2002.

1. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

the story so far...
    mb: asus p4b533-e
    case: antec 1080 (i checked it out at fry's. really liked it, plus toms hardware guide liked it enough)
    now i'm gonna get some memory and the cpu, but i've got some questions...remember...i'm a newbie at this! :b
    MEMORY
    i think i need DDR266/PC2100 for the board. is that correct? what happens if i get higher numbers (ddr333) - does that do anything special. afaik, the board's speed must match the memory, but i think ddr333 is too high? just what the heck do all those numbers mean anyway?
    also, what are some good brands to look for? i see corsair and crucial mentioned a lot.
    CPU
    are all intel p4 processors the same? afaik, there's really no difference...essentially a p4 chip is a p4 chip?
    thanks again!
    ted

2. John_Berger

John_Berger Cinematographer

3. Brian Hepler

Brian Hepler Stunt Coordinator

To answer your other question: Mushkin, Kingston and Crucial are all well-respected brands of memory. I use Kingston and Crucial, mostly.

IIRC, the numbers on the memory indicate what speed the memory is certified to operate. DDR333 is guaranteed to support a 333MHz front side bus (FSB). Think of it as weight limits on a bridge. Even though the bridge is rated at 9 tons, it will support your 2 ton car.

If you run your FSB at 266Mhz, you will have no problem with DDR266 memory.

4. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

cool - thanks for the extra info guys. looks like 266 will work for me then.

do any of you know about my other question regarding the processor speed? for some reason, it seems like i need at least a 2.26ghz processor to utilize the boards 533fsb?

thanks again!

5. KyleS

KyleS Screenwriter

Ted,
    Well for the Athlon 2100 that you are looking at you will want to get PC 2100.......