What's new

newbie with a couple questions! (1 Viewer)

DerekCV

Stunt Coordinator
I’m a total beginner to Home Theater, I have never owned a TV larger then 27inches and never had any speakers other then the ones in the TV for my listening pleasure. I am thinking about converting most of my basement into an HT/hang-out area. Right now the basement is all light colored paneling, which I plan on painting. Any ideas on a good color, not too dark though since I will use the area for a lot of things, computer room, poker room, and bar area. The area that I will be looking to use is about 12’ wide, by 25’long and about 7’ high (drop ceiling), this the area I have considering the “usable” area for the HT setup, the position of the pillars and I-beam in the basement sort of dictate this, there is extra open space around that though.

I’m on a pretty tight budget, so I’m not going to go crazy. But my initial thought I a Infocus 4805 projector mounting to the ceiling in the very back of the room to keep the fan noise away from everyone, who will be seated in the middle of the room. I would like to get about 90” out of it. I will eventually look at getting the Onkyo TX-SR702 but might just stick with my 8 year old Sony receiver for a bit to save up money.

My largest confusion comes in speak selection. I should note that I will probably use the speakers for music a lot too. I like the Infinity Primus speakers, figure I’d start with a center channel, some fronts and 2 surrounds, and then add on as needed when I get the Onkyo. Any speaker suggestions? I don’t like the little 10” subs that I see with a lot of these setups, so I have thinking of doing my own, I have a decent car audio background, I would like to have at least 1 15” sub if not 2. Hopefully it will really shake the room.